Baking with Pumpkin

4 Oct

A few weeks ago I spotted the Pillsbury pumpkin bread in the market near our house.  I immediately grabbed two boxes and one container of cream cheese frosting.  (I probably should have bought all of the boxes, considering they are crazy popular this time of year.)  I also grabbed a bag of mini semi sweet chocolate chips.  Then Sunday morning, I accidentally woke up really early (by my weekend standards)  and decided to put one of those boxes to use.  By 8am, the house smelled like pumpkin and chocolate (and coffee).  Ahh.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Bread (courtesy of Pillsbury):

Then, this morning I saw this.  Martha never disapoints.

(Photo credit: “Baked: New Frontiers in Baking” Stewart, Tabori & Chang, coauthored with Renato Poliafito, October 2008)

Well then.  I think I’ll make these too..which will require significantly more work than the pumpkin bread.  Also, it says I need to use parchment paper.   Do I really?  Mom?

PS.  In case you were wondering.  Here is THE crab cake.  Yes, it was amazing.  Yes, this is how it arrives – on its own plate.  Deservedly so.  No, I didn’t go for the double platter like most people.  I could barely finish this monster.

THE G&M Crab Cake

One Response to “Baking with Pumpkin”

  1. Todd S October 6, 2010 at 3:14 pm #

    Pumpkin bread, good
    Crab cake, good

Leave a Reply

