J. Crew = Love/Hate

21 Oct

Back in high school, my friend Gabe and I used to sit in Mr. Durbin’s Latin first section and flip through the JCrew sale catalog.  Gabe called it JPoo.  And we got a ton of work done in that class.   This was back when JCrew was old school preppy and super basic and known for pea coats and clogs.  We loved it.  I don’t think I ever actually owned anything from JCrew until college because St. Mary’s County was (is?) a little lagging in the retail area, but that’s beside the point.

Things have definitely changed.  For one thing, I got myself a pair of those dang clogs.  They were wooden and suede and made it impossible to walk up the 316 stairs in Sellinger.

Yes. The hot jam in college.

My roommate also had a pair and we really rocked it.  Stef had a pair too.  In maroon I think?  Stef, please confirm.  People need to know.

Whoa.

The point is, JCrew I love you.  I love you for your basic things, your pretty dresses, and your trouser jeans, but you’ve really gone off the deep end this time.  Sequin harem pants for approximately 1 million dollars?  Socks with heels on every single page? Telling me I wear a size triple zero one day and a 10 the next?  I don’t care if Katie Holmes and Fergie’s husband are splashed across your pages.  It’s not ok.   And JCrew, don’t think you’re fooling anyone with this “Ask Jenna. Jenna will help you.” malarkey.  Jenna, if  you’re really out there, and you’re reading this, please send me some sequins to wear.  And please tell me what size to order.  I’ll post myself and a select number of friends on this here super popular blog, and people will go nuts buying all of your special things.  Promise.

Wait, those harem pants are already SOLD OUT.  Here’s what “Jenna” just told me: We’re sorry. This item has been so popular, it has sold out. We’ve got other great ideas.

You can't have these.

 

Jenna – Since your popular harem pants have been snatched up by the popular kids, I’ll accept whatever else you can scrounge up.  You know where to reach me.

Friends – If you want to wear sequins (Nurk) and socks with heels, get ready.  Now’s your chance.

PS.  Speaking of clogs –  Todd and I went to a cooking class a few weeks ago.  Preview…

5 Responses to “J. Crew = Love/Hate”

  1. Stefanie October 21, 2010 at 10:19 pm #

    several things:
    1. highschool was a time when those basic jcrew clothes were affordable. Not so much anymore.
    2.fact. my jcrew clogs were Maroon. i often wore them with tights. one time at Have a Nice Day- fashion faux-paus? mayyybe.
    4. What would Jenna say about the clogs PLUS the sequin pants? H O T.

    • Leslie October 22, 2010 at 10:02 am #

      Stef – you were truly a trailblazer in the name of JCrew footwear, especially at Baltimore nightclubs.

  2. Lindsey October 22, 2010 at 9:54 am #

    They had a pair of black sequin shorts on sale at the Towson location on Saturday…I almost bought them.

    Stef, you forgot number 3.

    • Leslie October 22, 2010 at 10:03 am #

      You should have. Black sequin shorts I can get on board with.

  3. Todd S October 25, 2010 at 1:47 pm #

    Those pants would be great for halloween. You can be a disco ball.

Leave a Reply

